The First Ten Things

March 3, 2012

OK, so I was going to come up with several really finely-wrought articles on subjects I’ve been thinking about over the last few days, including Angkorian-era sandstone carvings and the nature of the Phnom Penh sunset. But I’ve been really, really busy.

Knowing, however, the cynical and unforgiving nature of the people who might be reading this, I thought I could just list exactly what has been keeping me so busy over the seven days that Petal and I have been here. So, I’ve:

1)   Found a flat to live in.

2)   Furnished the flat, to the extent of: two towels.

3)   Learned to count up to 19 in Khmer.

4)   Found the best hamburgers in Phnom Penh.

5)   Found the best foie gras in Phnom Penh.

6)   Saw a man use a ladder in a way I would never have thought possible.

7)   Watched the sun set from the far side of the Mekong River.

8)   Got a definite lead on a couple of jobs

9)   Eaten mango, pineapple, dragonfruit and papaya for breakfast. Every day.

10)  Smiled more than I have in years.

Sorry if this all sounds insufferably smug. Well, sorry-ish.

One Response to “The First Ten Things”

  1. Cara Cowen said

    So glad I chanced upon your blog for some on-the-ground viewpoints of PP – coming there next Jan on whistle stop tour of Cambodia/Vietnam. Will be looking out for new species of bird, and lovely light morning and evening – but, hope this is not impertinent, where can we find the best foie gras?? Where can we stay with style (with you on Cambodian taste of interior design) not overrun with Chinese?

Leave a Reply

